Weh-Sees Indohoun Special Zone – The MFFP confirms the abolition of the Weh-Sees Indohoun Special Zone

Chibougamau, March 29, 2018 – The Ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs (MFFP) is announcing the official abolition effective April 1, 2018 of the Weh-Sees Indohoun (WSI) special hunting and fishing zone.

Established in 2003 to prevent the overexploitation of wildlife resources linked to the development of the Eastmain-1-A and Sarcelle major hydroelectric power projects and the diversion of the Rivière Rupert, the special zone is no longer warranted since the vast majority of workers have left the territory. In point of fact, wildlife harvesting data collected since 2003 indicate that the abolition of the zone will not affect the long-term survival of wildlife resources.

Impact on sportfishing

Starting April 1, 2018, sportfishing enthusiasts will no longer be required to obtain access rights to fish in the rivers and water bodies located until now inside the WSI zone. However, they must possess a Québec government fishing licence.

For each species, the catch and possession limits for zones 22 North and 22 South will apply according to the location of the fishing site. Anglers must also abide by the regulation in force in each sector, in particular the regulation adopted following the publication of the provincial yellow walleye and lake trout management plans. To consult the regulations, please visit the MFFP website mffp.gouv.qc.ca/english/publications/online/wildlife/fishing-regulations/index.asp. Moreover, a minimum of three water bodies in the zone will be selected for inclusion in regional and provincial monitoring. Indeed, the MFFP regularly collects data, especially on aquatic species, to ensure the efficacy of its regulations and management plans for different species. It has committed itself to submitting the monitoring results to the Hunting, Fishing and Trapping Coordinating Committee (HFTCC).

Impact on sport hunting

As for sport hunting, hunters who are not beneficiaries of the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA) will be subject to the legislation and regulations in force in this territory. They must, therefore, possess a Québec government hunting licence and comply with the regulations applicable to each sector and species. To consult the regulations, please visit the MFFP website mffp.gouv.qc.ca/english/publications/online/wildlife/hunting-regulations/index.asp.

Among the most notable changes pertaining to moose hunting, it should be emphasized that sports hunters can from now on benefit from a bow hunting pre-season. Furthermore, hunting will now be allowed in the Eastmain sector. Hunters will  also be allowed to harvest female moose once the provincial regulation allows it.

Needless to say, all non-Aboriginal hunting and fishing enthusiasts must continue to abide by the rules established by the JBNQA, especially with respect to the land regime categories.

To obtain additional information on the MFFP and its activities and achievements, please visit mffp.gouv.qc.ca and the social networks:
Facebook MFFP https://www.facebook.com/ForetsFauneParcs
Twitter MFFP https://twitter.com/MFFP_Quebec

Zone spéciale Weh-Sees Indohoun – Le Ministère confirme l’abolition de la zone spéciale de chasse et de pêche Weh-Sees Indohoun

Chibougamau, le 29 mars 2018 – Le ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs (MFFP) annonce l’abolition officielle de la zone spéciale de chasse et de pêche Weh Sees Indohoun (WSI) à compter du 1er avril 2018.

Créée en 2003 afin de prévenir une surexploitation des ressources fauniques liée au développement des grands projets d’aménagement hydroélectrique Eastmain-1-A et la Sarcelle et à la dérivation de la rivière Rupert, cette zone spéciale n’est plus justifiée depuis que la grande majorité des travailleurs ont quitté le territoire. De fait, les données de prélèvement récoltées depuis 2003 indiquent que l’abolition de la zone n’affectera pas la pérennité des ressources fauniques.

Effet sur la pêche sportive

Dès le 1er avril prochain, les adeptes de la pêche sportive ne seront plus tenus d’obtenir un droit d’accès pour pêcher dans les rivières et les plans d’eau situés jusqu’ici à l’intérieur de la zone WSI. Ils devront néanmoins posséder un permis de pêche du Gouvernement du Québec.

Pour chaque espèce, les limites de prises et possession (LPP) des zones 22 Nord et 22 Sud s’appliqueront selon l’emplacement du site de pêche. Les pêcheurs devront également respecter la réglementation en vigueur dans chacun des secteurs, notamment celle mise en place à la suite de la publication des plans de gestion provinciaux du doré jaune et du touladi. Ces règles sont disponibles sur le site Web du MFFP à l’adresse http://mffp.gouv.qc.ca/la-faune/peche/. Par ailleurs, un minimum de 3 plans d’eau de la zone seront identifiés afin d’être intégrés aux suivis régionaux et provinciaux. En effet, le MFFP collecte régulièrement des données, notamment sur les espèces aquatiques, afin de s’assurer de l’efficacité de ses règlements et de ses plans de gestions des différentes espèces. Il s’est engagé à présenter les résultats de ces suivis au Comité conjoint de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage (CCCPP).

Effet sur la chasse sportive

En ce qui concerne la chasse sportive, les chasseurs non bénéficiaires de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois (CNJNQ) seront assujettis aux lois et règlements en vigueur sur ce territoire. Ils devront donc détenir un permis de chasse du Gouvernement du Québec et se conformer à la réglementation propre à chaque secteur et à chaque espèce. Cette réglementation est détaillée sur le site Web du MFFP à l’adresse mffp.gouv.qc.ca/publications/enligne/faune/reglementation-chasse/index.asp.

Parmi les changements les plus notables liés à la chasse à l’orignal, soulignons que les chasseurs sportifs pourront désormais bénéficier d’une présaison de chasse à l’arc. De plus, la chasse sera maintenant permise dans le secteur Eastmain. Les chasseurs pourront aussi récolter des orignaux femelles lorsque la réglementation provinciale le permettra.

Il va sans dire que, pour l’ensemble des activités de chasse et de pêche, les amateurs non-autochtones devront continuer de respecter les règles établies par la CBJNQ, notamment en ce qui a trait au régime des terres de catégories.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur le Ministère et en savoir plus sur ses activités et ses réalisations, consultez le mffp.gouv.qc.ca et les réseaux sociaux :
Facebook MFFP https://www.facebook.com/ForetsFauneParcs
Twitter MFFP https://twitter.com/MFFP_Quebec